President Establishes ‘Police Board’ Under The Recently Enacted Police Service Act

On Friday, President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih has constituted the Police Board, as per section 75(a) of the recently enacted Police Service Act (Law No. 34/2020) – appointing the members: Ahmed Fayaz Hassan, Aishath Noora Mohamed, Ali Faiz, Ahmed Nashid, Adam Ibrahim, Hamid Abdul Ghafoor, and Safa Shareef. Three of these members were appointed by the President whereas three members are experts in the relevant fields whereas two were appointed to represent the general public.

As per the Act, the Police Board is tasked with overseeing and making decisions pertaining to police matters while the parliament also included an amendment that stipulates the Police Board must reappoint all officers above the rank of superintendent with the exception of the Commissioner of Police, incumbent officers will maintain their positions until these efforts are complete.

People’s Majilis passed the Maldives Police Service Act (Law No. 34/2020) on 6th December 2020 at the 27th sitting of its third session this year whereas the President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih had ratified it on 27th December 2020. Three months following ratification, the Act came into force on 27th March 2021.