Mamen Inter-School Cycling Championship 2022 Returns For Its Third Edition

Dhiraagu has collaborated with Bike Maldives yet again, to launch the Mamen Inter-School Cycling Championship 2022. The third edition of the cycling competition is returning after a 2-year hiatus due to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic.

On Thursday, a special press conference was held to launch the event at Dhiraagu Head Office. While speaking at the press conference, Assistant Brand Manager, Naiya Shareef said that they are delighted to support Bike Maldive as a developmental partner in conducting the event. She further added that through this initiative, they hope to foster an interest of cycling among school children while promoting the importance of a healthy, sustainable lifestyle from an earlier age.

On the Occasion President of Bike Maldives, Zulaikha Hassan Didi remarked that being a member of the International Cycling Union (UCI), the association receives many opportunities to compete in international games and competitions. In this regard, she stated that through this tournament Bike Maldives aspires to create and train top cyclists who will represent Maldives abroad in these chances. She concluded her remarks by thanking Dhiraagu for contributing for the development of cycling in the Maldives.

This year’s tournament is set to take place on 17th September at the Cycling Track in Hulhumale’ Phase 2. Registrations are open for the tournament now with a close deadline on 8th September 2022. All school children are eligible to take part in this cycling fiesta.

Interested students can register via a Google form available from schools or from Dhiraagu and Bike Maldives’ social media handles. A total of 10 events are featured in this tournament with three male and female winners selected in each event except for the 1K Fun Ride.

The 10 events of the tournament are listed below:
1.     Under 11 (Nursery to Grade 4)-1K Fun Ride
2.     Under 13 (Grade 5,6)-200m Sprint
3.     Under 13 (Grade 5,6)-1K Sprint
4.     Under 15 (Grade 7,8)-200m Sprint
5.     Under 15 (Grade 7,8)-1K Sprint
6.     Under 17 (Grade 9,10)-200m Sprint
7.     Under 17 (Grade 9,10)-3K Ride
8.     Under 19 (Grade 11,12)-200m Sprint
9.     Under 19 (Grade 11,12)-3K Ride
10. 3K Team Pursuit