President Designates Six Different Sites Of Laamu Atoll To Be Protected

Six naturally unique and eco-rich places in the Laamu Atoll were designated as protected areas by President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih on Tuesday, December 21st, 2021.
Wetlands, reefs, lagoons, mangroves, seagrass meadows, and beaches are among the places President Solih has designated as protected areas.
The decision was reached following discussions at the Cabinet Meeting at President's Office on a paper provided by the Ministry of Environment, Climate Change, and Technology.
The six places in Laamu Atoll are among the marine environments that Mission Blue, an international non-profit marine conservation, designated as "Hope Spots" earlier this year.
Under the Environment Protection and Preservation Act, the administration has already designated a total of 14,423 hectares as marine protected areas, as part of its vow to safeguard at least one island, one reef, and one wetland from each atoll.